Thursday, September 11, 2008

A Guide to the Birds of East Africa by Nicholas Drayson

Mild-mannered Mr Malik really wants to ask fellow birdwatcher Rose Mbikwa to the Hunt Club Ball in contemporary Nairobi. He hasn't mailed the invitation yet, when his childhood nemesis Harry Khan resurfaces and takes a liking to Rose himself. With both Malik and Khan wanting Rose as their date, Malik's social club gets the idea for a competition--the man that sees the most species of birds in a week wins the right to invite Rose. Khan enlists the help of two Aussie birdwatchers and goes far afield to see as many birds as possible, while Malik stays close to home in his quest. While the story might be simple, Drayson infuses his novel with a hero to cheer for (Malik) and a colorful cast of secondary characters and a vivid setting. A read-alike for Alexander McCall Smith's No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. An utter delight....don't miss it....

No comments: