Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Slated for Death by Elizabeth J. Duncan


When preparing for a local concert to be held in a closed slate mine, organizer Glenda Roberts is murdered. Spa owner Penny Brannigan agrees to take over the event and finds herself involved in the case when Glenda's mother, Doreen (also Penny's friend), is found dead. Could the crimes be related to Glenda's sister, Rebeccah, selling knock-off products in her market stall, or might they have something to do with the workers in the mines years ago? In this sixth book in the Penny Brannigan series, set in Wales,  Duncan writes a mystery that would be a great read-alike for people who enjoy M.C. Beaton.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

The Rumor by Elin Hilderbrand

Novelist Madeline King is suffering from writer's block, so when her best friend, Grace, confesses an affair with landscape gardener, Benton Coe, Madeline can't resist using Grace's story as the basis for a new novel. Grace is basking in Benton's attention, despite being married to Eddie and having twin teen daughters, Allegra and Hope. Eddie, meanwhile, is preoccupied with the financial situation he's gotten himself into. In the process of building three houses, he doesn't have enough money to finish them and, as a real estate agent, he hasn't sold a house in many months. Desperate, Eddie makes a business decision that's against the law, which makes him even more stressed. Set on the island of Nantucket, The Rumor explores the relationships between Madeline, Grace, and Eddie, along with Allegra and Hope. While I enjoyed the book, there was something missing that puts it a level below Hilderbrand's great novels, like BarefootThe Island, and Silver Girl. It will be published in June.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

I Take You by Eliza Kennedy

In one week, New York lawyer Lily Wilder is getting married in her hometown of Key West.  The big question on everyone's mind is "should she?" Even though she loves her fiancee, Will, she can't remain faithful to him. I Take You follows Lily along with her family and friends in the frantic and festive days leading up to the nuptials. From the parties and future in-laws meetings to Lily's involvement in a case for work that could ruin her career, the novel is filled with humor, quirky characters and heart. A breezy, fun read similar to Bridget Jones's Diary and the novels of Sophie Kinsella. It will be published in May.

Saturday, March 28, 2015

The Wednesday Group by Sylvia True

Five women find themselves joining a therapy group because their husbands are sex addicts. There's Gail, a judge, whose husband is tempted by his female students, and Hannah, whose young daughter, Alicia, is acting out because of the uneasiness of her parents' marriage. Rounding out the group are Flavia, whose husband has been arrested for groping someone on the subway, and Bridget and Lizzy, who both are struggling with anger and frustration towards their husbands and worry if the men are being honest. With therapist Kathryn to guide the weekly meetings, the women slowly confide in each other about their lives and emotions and find themselves forming a bond.  A good read-alike for The School of Essential Ingredients and The Friday Night Knitting Club.

The Precipice by Paul Doiron

When two women go missing while hiking a difficult part of the Appalachian Trail, Maine game warden Mike Bowditch helps in trying to determine where the women were last seen. Mike then finds himself embroiled in the search and discovers there are no shortage of people whose behaviors make them suspicious. With a great sense of place, a puzzle that keep the reader guessing, and a main character that you can't help but empathize with, The Precipice is another home run for Doiron. Give to readers who love C.J. Box and Craig Johnson. It will be published in June.

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

12 Rose Street by Gail Bowen

Joanne's husband, Zack, is running for mayor in Regina, Saskatchewan, and faces an uphill battle against the incumbent, Scott Ridgeway. Joanne is an expert at running political campaigns, having helped her first husband, Ian, become the Attorney General of Saskatchewan many years ago. However, when a local slumlord is murdered, it unearths secrets, political mudslinging, and more violence. Will Joanne and her family be able to escape unscathed? This latest book in the long-running Joanne Kilbourn mystery series further explores the characters' lives, while bringing to the forefront the issue of poverty among the Aboriginal People in Canada.

Monday, March 16, 2015

The Stranger by Harlan Coben

Lawyer Adam Price has his world turned upside down when a stranger tells him that his wife, Corinne, faked her recent pregnancy. Stunned by the news, Adam confronts Corinne who tells him that it's the truth. She then disappears, texting him that she needs some time away and asking him to take care of their two teenage boys, Thomas and Ryan. Where has Corinne gone? Has something bad possibly happened to her? The reader also learns that "the stranger" has gone to other people, revealing secrets about their family members. The puzzle that Adam tries to unravel kept me guessing until the end of the book--and kept me up late at night. The Stranger is a great read-alike for Linwood Barclay.